Skip to content

Beneath This Niqab…..

February 15, 2010

“Beneath this niqaab”

Written by: Abu Dujanah

Beneath this niqaab
Thoughtful lips do utter: ” You envy not the life of lowliness”
Beneath this niqaab
The warmth of love has reached my station with tenderness!

Beneath this niqaab

The name of my Creator – is hunged on the wall of my mind!

Beneath this niqaab
Hijab is my honor and the strongest shield of piety that I find
Beneath this niqaab
I lower my wing as I put the pride and arrogance all behind
Beneath this niqaab
I am from the magnificent nation ever produced for mankind

Beneath this niqaab
Women like Summayyah has brought me up shoulder high
Beneath this niqaab
I encountered the fragrance of happiness in its joyous sigh

Beneath this niqaab
Nay, do I seem to care of what the blamers say or illustrate
Beneath this niqaab
I drink lovely from the Prophetic Inheritance in its pure state
Beneath this niqaab
I turn the pages of the past and to the present I gladly relate
Beneath this niqaab
Time does testify again that I am the slave of the Most Great!

Beneath this niqaab
Ah, paradise has exposed itself to me lovingly in its all beauty
Beneath this niqaab
I am proud to be among the veiled – fulfilling such worthy duty!

Beneath this niqaab
I am a Muslim woman – and indeed there is more than a flesh
Beneath this niqaab
I refuse to [drown] myself in the rivers of disgrace and stress
Beneath this niqaab
Roses in my garden astonishingly open to a colorful success
Beneath this niqaab
My heart dances with a pleasure that [words] cannot express!

Source is not mentioned for some valid reasons.

2 Comments
  1. February 15, 2010 8:26 pm

    thanks for the lovely poem.and congratulations on your deep conviction and good choice for the niqab.

  2. Myriam permalink
    December 9, 2012 9:10 am

    Beuatiful poem which makes me understand why one can embrace the niqab. Thank you so much.

Comments are closed.

